IGS UK Representation

The IGS UK Chapter is represented on a number of industry related committees which provides the UK Chapter various platforms within the geosynthetics sector and wider civil engineering community to voice its opinions and provide assistance. We are currently represented on the following committees, councils and associations:

List of Mirror UK and International Technical Committees we sit on


Dave Woods, Yuli Chaido Doulala-Rigby (Vice Chair)

Ground Forum:

Dave Woods

BSI B/553 Geosynthetics:

Chair: Ian Fraser Rep: David Shercliff (+ other members)

BSI B/526-4 Reinforced Soil:

Rep: Graham Horgan (+ other members)

CEN TC189:

CEN TC189: Numerous members via BSI B/553

ISO TC221:

Chair:  Peter Atchison (+ other members via BSI B/553)

ISO WG6 (Design):

Convenor: Derek Smith (+ others members via BSI B/553)

ISSMGE TC218 – Reinforced Soil Structures WG1, WG2:

Yuli Chaido Doulala-Rigby, Nico Brusa, Patricia Guerra-Escobar, Dave Woods

IGS Council:

Patricia Guerra-Escobar

IGS Sustainability Committee:

Kasia Zamara, David Shercliff, Ian Fraser

IGS TC-Barriers:

Eugene Gallagher

ICE Manual of Geotechnical Engineering: Editorial revision of 2024 edition:

Yuli Chaido Doulala-Rigby, Graham Horgan, Dave Woods, Stuart Mortimore

List of other Engineering Groups and Societies we co-badge our events with at various times

Engineering Group of the Geological Society:

Host of AGM and joint meeting every December at Burlington House.

British Geotechnical Association:

Joint host of Invitational lecture every October.

Midland Geotechnical Society. ICE regional group:

Annual co-hosts with IGS UK

ICE NWGG – North West Geotechnical Group:

Annual co-hosts with IGS UK

ICE YGG – Yorkshire Geotechnical Group:

Annual co-hosts with IGS UK

IoM3– Institute of Materials, Minerals & Mining:

Co-hosts of IGS UK

Scroll to Top